Welcome To Erin

The Town of Erin is nestled in the beautiful kettle moraine area of Washington County, 

photo 10-001

located in southeastern Wisconsin.


The varied glacial topography makes the town very unique with dramatic changes in elevation. We have the highest point in southeastern Wisconsin, on which the Basilica at Holy Hill, National Shrine of Mary is located.


While we were not the first town 'settled' in Washington County, we are the oldest and the first one to incorporate by act of the Territorial Legislature on January 16, 1846.  The fitting name "Erin" was suggested by one of the first settlers in the township, John Whelan.


The town is located in the far southwestern corner of Washington County, is 36 square miles in size, has approximately 3790 residents and contains a mix of agricultural and residential property in a rural setting. The town includes the unincorporated hamlet of Thompson as well as several lakes including Druid, Loew's, Murphy, McConville, Malloy, Beck, and Hickey Lake.  There are two major rivers in town the Oconomowoc and Ashippun, along with smaller rivers and creeks including the Little Oconomowoc River, Flynn and Mason Creek.

We are bordered on the west by the Town of Ashippun in Dodge County; to the south by the Town of Merton in Waukesha County; to the east by the Town of Richfield and to the north by the Town of Hartford.