Town of Erin | 1846 State Highway 83 South, Hartford, WI 53027 | Phone: 262.673.3682 | Fax:  262.673.3755 | Email:

Family Friendly Community

Parks, Local Rural Schools, and community events 

make Erin Township a great place to call "Home"

In the Heart of the Kettle Moraine

Scenic landscapes and Glacial deposits make Erin the prime location

to view the beautyof the Kettle Moraine

Scenic Grounds and Facilities

Enjoy access to up-to-date facilities in a scenic landscape

Vacation in your own

Back Yard

Scenic surroundings and Impressive Landscapes

Rich in History

The Erin community dates back to the early 1800s

Welcome To Erin

The Town of Erin is nestled in the beautiful kettle moraine area of Washington County, 

photo 10-001

located in southeastern Wisconsin.


The varied glacial topography makes the town very unique with dramatic changes in elevation. We have the highest point in southeastern Wisconsin, on which the Basilica at Holy Hill, National Shrine of Mary is located.


While we were not the first town 'settled' in Washington County, we are the oldest and the first one to incorporate by act of the Territorial Legislature on January 16, 1846.  The fitting name "Erin" was suggested by one of the first settlers in the township, John Whelan.


The town is located in the far southwestern corner of Washington County, is 36 square miles in size, has approximately 3790 residents and contains a mix of agricultural and residential property in a rural setting. The town includes the unincorporated hamlet of Thompson as well as several lakes including Druid, Loew's, Murphy, McConville, Malloy, Beck, and Hickey Lake.  There are two major rivers in town the Oconomowoc and Ashippun, along with smaller rivers and creeks including the Little Oconomowoc River, Flynn and Mason Creek.

We are bordered on the west by the Town of Ashippun in Dodge County; to the south by the Town of Merton in Waukesha County; to the east by the Town of Richfield and to the north by the Town of Hartford.

Town News At-A-Glance

February 20, 2018 Spring Primary Election, polls open 7a.m. - 8p.m.


 2018 St. Patrick's Day Parade:  March 17, 2018 starting at 11:00a.m.

     See form below for parade entry and rules.


Download this file (PARADE ENTRY FORM and policy2018.pdf)Parade entry form[ ]146 kB

Town Hall Information

Town Clerk - Julie A. Kriewaldt

  •  Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Phone: 262.673.3682

Zoning Clerk - Patti Weix

  •  Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Phone: 262.673.3682

Road Foreman - Dave Lofy

  •  Phone: 262.673.3702

Office Hours

  • Monday - Thursday 8am - 4pm
  • Fridays Closed
  • Tuesday 2pm - 4pm
  • Thursday 2pm - 4pm
  • FEBRUARY 17-28, 2018